How to land a fashion internship… and survive it! Part-II

20May11

After the Vogue interview, I applied to several other places and didn’t even get any call backs. Until February (Vogue happened in November). I got a response to my application to Good Housekeeping fashion closet and Vogue (again!), but for a different editor. I set up the interviews for the next week and decided to travel to the city again. While there, the Vogue interview ended up not happening and although I did my best at the interview at Good Housekeeping, I think they must have chosen someone else.

But, in the evening, I saw a listing for fashion internship at W magazine had just been put up on Ed2010. Although it said previous fashion internship experience preferred, I decided to apply because by now I was pretty desperate and had nothing to lose. The fashion assistants wrote back to me almost immediately and agreed to meet me the very next day. This was Friday and on Monday they asked me come in for a trial day. 😀 To say I was excited would be the understatement of the century!

On my first day, I was dazzled by the clothes and shoes in the closet! Oscar de la Renta, Christian Dior, Gucci, Fendi, Jimmy Choo, Manolo Blahnik – you name it, they had it! Rows upon rows of shoes, racks upon racks of clothes! “So this is what my heaven would look like,” I thought! Little did I know, in a few short weeks I’d be thinking – Oh God, this is what hell must be like! (I’m not kidding!)

Also on the first day, I realized that finding it might have been the easy part of the process. The real trauma began only now! I would take an overnight bus to the city, have two cups of Starbucks coffee to make sure I managed to stay up, go to work at 9 a.m. and be there till 8 p.m. on an average. There were also days when we would come in at 7.30 and stay till past 9 with only a half an hour break in between. The work went on continuous and our bosses worked harder and longer than we did. Packing, unpacking, preparing for shoots, helping with storyboarding, run to and fro the offices of designers and PR companies with garment bags…! We did it all and more!

And there was no room for error. Because every mistake that you made cost money to the company. So you have to be extra attentive at everything that you did!

Well somehow, three months passed and my last day came! It was one of those super slow days that suddenly turned busy in the evening and I couldn’t even say a proper goodbye to my bosses as I had to catch my bus back to Syracuse.

Looking back, I can safely say that this internship taught me more than any course could have. A thorough knowledge of the most high-end designers’ collections, a first-hand look at how one of the top fashion magazines of the world functions, and the amount of hard work and attention to detail that goes into putting together an issue. I was blessed to have wonderful bosses who appreciated our efforts and even on the busiest days, didn’t forget to thank us for all that we did.

Now, hopefully I’ll move on the bigger and better things! 🙂

Stay tuned!

3 Responses to “How to land a fashion internship… and survive it! Part-II”

  1. 1 Michelle M.

    I randomly came across this blog and it is AWESOME! I just stared as a fashion intern at W this week!

    P.S. I had interviewed with Vogue earlier this year too and I didn’t make the cut 😦

    You should definitely shoot me an email sometime. I’d love to talk Chanel and tips on the perfect subway routes for PR pick ups haha!

    my email address is michelle-a-morgan@uiowa.edu

    -Michelle Morgan

    • Thank you! 🙂 You’ll have an awesome time at W and meet some real great, fun people… Will be sending you an email soon!

  2. Awesome! I look forward to hearing from you.

    -Michelle
    michelle-a-morgan@uiowa.edu


Leave a Reply

